Lookup Screen Views

A view is a saved customization of the Lookup screen. For example, you can create a view of the Lookup screen that displays only 8th graders and sorts them by homeroom. If you anticipate viewing specific data often, creating a view allows you to display that data without having to reapply the customizations.

For a list of actions you can take with a view, refer to the table below:

To

Do this

Create a view

See Create a View.

Copy a view

See Copy a View.

Switch between views

In the lower-left of the Lookup screen, in the Current View drop-down list, select a view.

If you are on the Students database, only views created for students are listed. To display views created for staff, switch to the Staff database.

Refresh the data and save changes to the current view

In the lower-left of the Lookup screen, next to the Current View drop-down list, click Refresh Icon.

Save changes to the current view

After making changes to the view, in the lower-right of the Lookup screen, click Save View icon Save View As ' View Name'.

Save changes to a new view

After making changes to the view, in the lower-right of the Lookup screen, click Save As New View icon Save As New View. Type a name for the view, and then click Save [F10].

Rename a view

In the lower-right of the Lookup screen, click Rename View icon Rename View. In the Rename View As dialog box, edit the view name, and then click Save [F10].

Add demographic columns to or remove them from a view

See Change the Demographic Columns on a Custom View or Change the Demographic Columns on a Default View.

Sort the data in the view's Lookup screen See Sort the Data in the Lookup Screen.
Apply a filter to a view See Apply a Filter to the Lookup Screen.

Delete a view

In the lower-right of the Lookup screen, click Delete View icon Delete View. In the Which View to Delete dialog box, click the view you want to delete, and then click Select.